Safety measures concerning the Coronavirus COVID-19. Read more about the measures.


Two new members join ESM Board of Auditors

Press releases

Luxembourg - The European Stability Mechanism (ESM) today welcomes two new members to its Board of Auditors. They are Andrew Harkness, Secretary and Director of Audit at Ireland’s Office of the Comptroller and Auditor General, and Jean Guill, Director General of the Commission de Surveillance du Secteur Financier in Luxembourg. The two were appointed at the meeting of 5 October of the ESM Board of Governors for a non-renewable three-year term, starting on 8 October, 2015.

“The Board of Auditors is a crucial counterpart for the ESM’s Management Board and the entire organisation. It plays an important role in our corporate governance and in ensuring trust among shareholders and the general public,” said Klaus Regling, Managing Director of the ESM.

The two new members of the five-strong board will replace Marc Gengler and Jules Muis, whose terms expire today. The Board of Auditors is chaired by Ulrich Graf, Audit Director at the Bundesrechnungshof in Germany. Igors Ludboržs, a member of the European Court of Auditors in Luxembourg since 2004, is the Board of Auditors’ Vice Chairperson, while Katarína Kaszasová, Director General at the Ministry of Finance of the Slovak Republic, is the fifth member.

“I would like to thank Mr Gengler and Mr Muis for the important work they have done during the first three years of the ESM’s existence,” said Kalin Anev Janse, Secretary General of the ESM.

The Board of Auditors is an independent body that inspects the ESM’s accounts, and audits all aspects of its activities including regularity, compliance, performance and risk management. It has full access to any document and information of the ESM it needs to execute those tasks.


Head of Communications and Chief Spokesperson
+352 260 962 205

Deputy Head of Communications and Deputy Chief Spokesperson
+352 260 962 551

Principal Speechwriter and Principal Spokesperson
+352 260 962 654

Senior Financial Spokesperson
+352 260 962 232