Safety measures concerning the Coronavirus COVID-19. Read more about the measures.


Composition of the Tribunal

Virginia Melgar

Graduated in law from the University of Paris (Paris II Assas), (1981); graduated in Criminal Sciences from the Institute of Criminology Paris (1980); Judge in France (1982); Public Prosecutor at the Versailles Court of First Instance ( 1984-1986); Magistrate at the Ministry of Justice Criminal division (1986-1991); seconded national expert at the Legal Service of the European Commission (1991-1994); Lawyer at the Legal Service of the Office for Harmonisation in the Internal Market (Trade Marks and Designs) Alicante (1995-2001); Deputy Director of the General Affairs and External Relations Department of OHIM (2001-2004); examiner of trade marks at the Trade Marks Department of OHIM (2004-2006); Principal Director Legal Affairs at the European Patent Office Munich (2006-2011); Lawyer at the cancellation and litigation department of OHIM (2011-2012); Lawyer at the Litigation Department of OHIM (2012 to 2015); Member of the 5th Board of Appeal of OHIM (since 2015); Chairperson of the 5th Board since April 2020; Professor at the Magister Lucentinus (master in Industrial property) at the University of Alicante (1995-2001); Member and President of the ESM Administrative Tribunal since 2014.

Haris Tagaras

Law graduate (University of Thessaloniki, 1977); Masters in European Law (Licence spéciale en droit européen, Institute for European Studies, Free University of Brussels, 1980); Doctorate in Law (University of Thessaloniki, 1984); Lawyer-linguist at the Council of the European Communities (1980-82); Researcher at the Thessaloniki Centre for International and European Economic Law (1982-84); Administrator at the Court of Justice of the European Communities and at the Commission of the European Communities (1986-90); Professor of Community Law, International Private Law and Human Rights at Athens Panteion University (since 1990); external consultant for European matters at the Ministry of Justice and member of the Permanent Committee of the Lugano Convention (1991-2004); member of the National Competition Commission (1999-2005) and of the National Postal and Telecommunications Commission (2000-02); member of the Thessaloniki Bar (since March 1980), lawyer to the Court of Cassation; founding member of the Union of European Lawyers (UAE, 1986); associate member of the International Academy of Comparative Law; Judge at the European Union Civil Service Tribunal (October 2005 to October 2011) and President of its 2nd Chambers (October 2009 to October 2011); member of the Luxembourg Bar, authorised to exercise under the title of origin, Dikigoros, since December 2012; founding member of the Association of Former Judges of the EC/EU Courts and secretary/treasurer of its first governing board; Chair, on ad hoc basis, of the Disciplinary Committee of the European Central Bank; Dignity@Work expert and panels’ chair in the European Investment Bank (since 2019); Frequent member of the Governing Board of the “Institut des droits de l’homme des avocats européens” (IDHAE) and of the jury for the Ludovic Trarieux prize; Member and Vice-President of the ESM Administrative Tribunal since 2014.

Celia Goldman

Bachelor of Arts in History, summa cum laude, Phi Beta Kappa (University of Pennsylvania, 1983); Juris Doctor (Yale University, 1986), Editor and Senior Editor, Yale Law Journal (1984-1986); Member of the Bar (District of Columbia, Maryland, Pennsylvania); Law Clerk to Judge Theodore R. Newman, Jr., District of Columbia Court of Appeals (1986-1987); private practice of law, Washington, D.C. (1988-1992); International Monetary Fund Administrative Tribunal (Counsel, 1996-1999; Registrar, since 2000; and Senior Legal Advisor, since 2008); numerous presentations and publications on international civil service law; Symposium on “The Future of International Administrative Law: Harmonization? Fragmentation? Dialogue?” commemorating 20th anniversary of the International Monetary Fund Administrative Tribunal; Member of the Scientific Advisory Board, Max Planck Encyclopedia of International Procedural Law (EiPro); Member of the Advisory Board, Oxford International Organizations (OXIO). Member of the ESM Administrative Tribunal since 2014.

Gerhard Ullrich

Law studies at the Universities of Munich, Lausanne, Geneva and Saarbrücken; 1967 Doctor of Laws; 1970 to 1977 Representing the German Government in various international Conferences at the World Intellectual Property Organisation and at the Interim Bodies for the establishment of the European Patent Organisation; 1977 to 2005 Chief General Legal Counsel of the European Patent Organisation; since 2005 Attorney admitted to the Munich Bar; 2010 to 2012 Vice President of the Appeals Committee of the Council of the European Patent Organisation; Member of the ESM Administrative Tribunal since 2014.

Kieran Bradley

Graduated in law from Trinity College Dublin (1979); Diploma in European Legal Studies, College of Europe, Bruges (1980); LLB Queens’ College, University of Cambridge (1981); Administrator at the Secretariat of the Committee on Legal Affairs, European Parliament (1981-1988); Administrator/ Principal Administrator (1988-1995), Head of Unit (2004-2011) and Director (March-September 2011) in the Legal Service, European Parliament; référendaire at the Court of Justice (1995-2000); Distinguished Lecturer in European Union Law at Harvard Law School (Spring 2000); Visiting Professor, Global School of Law, University of Portugal, Lisbon (2009- ); Visiting Professor, College of Europe, Bruges (2014- ); Judge of the European Union Civil Service Tribunal (2011-2016), President of the Second Chamber (2014-2016); PhD, Queens’ College, Cambridge (2016); Fellow, Robert Schuman Institute, University of Luxembourg (June 2016- ); Adjunct Professor, Law School, Trinity College Dublin (July 2016- ); Special Adviser to the Court of Justice of the European Union on Brexit and general staff matters (November 2016-September 2019); deputy Chairman of Appeals Board, European Centre for Medium-Range Weather Forecasts (June 2017-); member (former Vice-Chair) Scientific Committee, European Union Fundamental Rights Agency (June 2018- ); judge of the Administrative Tribunal of the Inter-American Development Bank Group (July 2021- ). Member of the ESM Administrative Tribunal since 2017.