Safety measures concerning the Coronavirus COVID-19. Read more about the measures.


Board of Directors and Alternate Director

Each Governor appoints one Director and one alternate Director from among people of high competence in economic and financial matters. The Member of the European Commission in charge of economic and monetary affairs and the President of the ECB may also appoint one observer each.

The Board of Directors ensure that the ESM is run in accordance with its Treaty and by-laws. It takes decisions as provided for by the ESM Treaty or decisions delegated to it by the Board of Governors. Decisions are taken by qualified majority, unless otherwise stated by the ESM Treaty.

The Board of Directors meetings are chaired by the ESM Managing Director.

  Director Alternate Director
Belgium Mr Steven Costers

Counselor General, Finance Ministry
Mr Peter Van Der Stoelen
Germany Mr Carsten Pillath

State Secretary, Bundesministerium der Finanzen
Mr Wilfried Steinheuer
Estonia Mr Märten Ross

Deputy Secretary General for Financial Policy and External Relations

Head of EU and International Affairs Department, Ministry of Finance 
Mr Andres Kuningas
Ireland Mr Gary Tobin

Assistant Secretary General, International & EU Division, Department of Finance
Mr Gerald Angley
Greece Mr Michael Arghyrou

Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisors
Mr Eleftherios Tserkezis
Spain Mr Carlos Cuerpo

Secretary General for the Treasury
Mr Enrique Ruiz de Villa Saiz
France Mr Emmanuel Moulin

Director General of the Treasury
Ms Shanti Bobin
Italy Mr Alessandro Rivera

Director General of the Treasury

Ministry of Economy and Finance
Mr Luigi Maria Disanto
Cyprus Mr George Panteli

Director of Economic Research and European Union Affairs Directorate, Ministry of Finance
Mr Marios Stephanides
Latvia Ms Līga Klavina

Deputy State Secretary, Ministry of Finance
Mr Nils Sakss
Lithuania Mr Mindaugas Liutvinskas

Vice-Minister, Ministry of Finance
Mr Darius Trakelis
Luxembourg Mr Nima Ahmadzadeh

Director of Economic and Fiscal Affairs, Ministry of Finance
Mr Jil Gillen
Malta Mr Alfred Camilleri

Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Finance
Mr Kevin Vella 
Netherlands Mr Christiaan Rebergen

Treasurer-general, Ministry of Finance
Ms Heleen Uijt de Haag
Austria Mr Harald Waiglein

Director General for Economic Policy and Financial Markets, Federal Ministry of Finance
Mr Paul Schieder
Portugal Mr João Nuno Mendes

Secretary of State for Finance
Mr José Carlos Azevedo Pereira
Slovenia Ms Katja Lautar

State Secretary at the Ministry of Finance
Mr Žiga Lavrič
Slovakia Mr Peter Paluš

Head of the Financial Unit at the Permanent Representation of Slovakia to the European Union
Mr Juraj Toporčák
Finland Ms Leena Mörttinen

Permanent Under-Secretary at the Ministry of Finance
Ms Marketta Henriksson