## Two new members join ESM Board of Auditors

View PDF 12/10/2018 Press releases ESM



Irena Petruškevičienė



Noel Camilleri

Luxembourg – The Board of Governors of the European Stability Mechanism (ESM) has appointed Irena Petruškevičienė and Noel Camilleri to its Board of Auditors, each for a non-renewable three-year term starting on 8 October 2018. Ms Petruškevičienė was appointed upon the proposal of the Chairperson of the Board of Governors – Mário Centeno. Mr Camilleri is Deputy Auditor General of the Maltese Supreme Audit Institution, which nominated him for the position.

"I welcome the two new members to the Board of Auditors, the independent oversight body of the ESM, which reports directly to the Board of Governors of the ESM. Ms Petruškevičienė and Mr Camilleri, as members of the Board of Auditors, will play a significant role in ensuring the trust of our Member States and the general public," said Klaus Regling, ESM Managing Director.

The Board of Auditors is composed of five members, two appointed upon proposal of the Chairperson of the Board of Governors, two upon nomination by the supreme audit institutions of ESM Members based on a system of rotation, and one by the European Court of Auditors. Ms Petruškevičienė replaces Mr Jean Guill while Mr Camilleri replaces Mr Andrew Harkness, whose non-renewable three year terms have come to an end. "I would like to thank Mr Guill and Mr Harkness for their valuable contributions as members of the Board of Auditors. Their input has made the ESM a better and stronger institution," said Klaus Regling.

The Board of Auditors is an independent body that inspects the ESM accounts and verifies that the operational accounts and the balance sheet are in order. Furthermore, it audits the regularity, compliance, performance and risk management of the ESM in accordance with international auditing standards and monitors and reviews the ESM's internal and external audit processes and their results.

## **Contacts**



Cédric Crelo

Head of Communications and Chief Spokesperson
+352 260 962 205

c.crelo@esm.europa.eu



Anabela Reis
Deputy Head of Communications and Deputy Chief Spokesperson +352 260 962 551
a.reis@esm.europa.eu



<u>Juliana Dahl</u>
Principal Speechwriter and Principal Spokesperson

+352 260 962 654

j.dahl@esm.europa.eu