Winners of the architectural competition for new administration building selected

View PDF



(Photo: EM2N Architekten / ROBERTNEUN Architekten)

An international jury has selected the winners of the architectural competition "Administrative building for European Stability Mechanism and Luxembourg State on the Kirchberg". In close coordination with the European Stability Mechanism (ESM), the competition was organised by the Ministère de la Mobilité et des Travaux Publics in Luxembourg (represented by the Administration des bâtiments publics).

Of the 23 candidatures submitted in the first phase of the competition, eight project teams – composed of architects and technical offices (including landscape

architecture offices) – were retained for the second phase of the competition. Of the eight retained project teams, three were not evaluated by the jury due to noncompliance with formal criteria.

The jury, headed by architect Prof. Christoph Gantenbein, met on 24 and 25 March 2022. After evaluation by the jury, the projects of the following project teams were awarded prizes:

1st prize:

Architectural office:

EM2N Architekten Zürich / Berlin ROBERTNEUN Architekten GmbH Engineering office for structural planning: wh-p GmbH Consulting Engineers Engineering office for technical building equipment planning: Basler & Hofmann AG Landscape architecture office: Atelier Loidl Landscape Architects Berlin GmbH

2nd prize:

Architectural office: **Dietrich Untertrifaller Architects ZT GmbH** Franz and Sue ZT GmbH Architecture & Aménagement s.a Engineering office for structural design: Knippers Helbig GmbH INCA Ingénieurs Conseils Associés Engineering office for technical building equipment planning: Buro Happold GmbH Landscape architecture office: Glück Landschaftsarchitektur GmbH

The remaining planning teams were ranked as follows (two 3rd places):

3rd rank (shared):

Architectural Office:

KAAN Architecten

2001 Architecture Engineering office for structural design: Werner Sobek Frankfurt GmbH & Co. KG Schroeder & Associés S.A. Engineering office for technical building equipment planning: Werner Sobek Frankfurt GmbH & Co. KG Landscape architecture office: OKRA Landschapsarchitecten bv

3rd rank (shared):

Architectural office: **UNStudio** BALLINIPITT architectes urbanistes Engineering office for structural design: SGI Ingenierie S.A. Engineering office for technical building equipment planning: Buro Happold GmbH SGI Ingenierie S.A. Landscape architecture office: Felixx Landscape Architects & Planners B.V.

5th rank:

Architectural Office:

M3 Architectes S.A.

Stefano Boeri Architetti Structural Engineering Office: B.E.S.T. Ingénieurs-Conseils S.à.r.l. Engineering office for technical building equipment planning: Contracting & Engineering Services Luxembourg (CES) Contracting & Engineering Services nv (CES) Landscape architecture office: Agence l'Anton & Associés B.E.S.T. Ingénieurs-Conseils

Exhibition

All evaluated projects of the project competition will be exhibited from 22 April 2022 to 6 May 2022 at the premises of the Fonds d'urbanisation et d'aménagement du Plateau de Kirchberg (4, Rue Erasme L-1468 Luxembourg). Registration for the visit can be made at the reception during opening hours 08h00 - 12h00 and 14h00 - 17h00 (Monday to Friday).

Contacts



<u>Cédric Crelo</u> Head of Communications and Chief Spokesperson +352 260 962 205 <u>c.crelo@esm.europa.eu</u>



Anabela Reis Deputy Head of Communications and Deputy Chief Spokesperson +352 260 962 551 a.reis@esm.europa.eu



Juliana Dahl Principal Speechwriter and Principal Spokesperson +352 260 962 654 j.dahl@esm.europa.eu