## EFSF Board of Directors elects Hans Vijlbrief as its new Chairman

## View PDF

24/03/2014 Press releases EFSF

Luxembourg – The Board of Directors of the European Financial Stability Facility (EFSF) has elected Hans Vijlbrief as its new Chairman. Hans Vijlbrief has been a member of the EFSF Board of Directors since 2011 when he became Treasurer-General at the Ministry of Finance of the Netherlands. He succeeds Georges Heinrich, the outgoing Treasurer-General at the Ministry of Finance of Luxembourg, who had been Chairman of the EFSF Board of Directors since 2012.

Klaus Regling, CEO of the EFSF said: "I am delighted that Hans Vijlbrief accepted the task of steering the EFSF's Board of Directors and I am sure we will benefit from his experience in euro area matters and from his understanding of economic matters in Europe". Klaus Regling added: "I would like to thank Georges Heinrich for his service to the EFSF Board of Directors and the important part he played in resolving the crisis since he took over this role in 2012."

The EFSF Board of Directors manages the EFSF according to the rules laid down in the EFSF Articles of Incorporation.

## Contacts



<u>Cédric Crelo</u> Head of Communications and Chief Spokesperson

## +352 260 962 205 c.crelo@esm.europa.eu



Anabela Reis Deputy Head of Communications and Deputy Chief Spokesperson +352 260 962 551 a.reis@esm.europa.eu



Juliana Dahl Principal Speechwriter and Principal Spokesperson +352 260 962 654 j.dahl@esm.europa.eu